growing

I found this photo today from when Everly was just 4 days old. We’re less than a week from her being 4 months old now and today, she looks like this:

I can hardly believe that she’ll be 4 or 14 someday.

This morning she bonked her head (okay, I bonked her head) and she cried – the immediate loud cries that break your heart. I picked her up and walked her around the house holding her for a few minutes until the hurt went away. 

Later, I texted with a student who is feeling betrayed by her friends. I’m not with her, but from her texts, I imagine she’s crying the same hurt tears, but no amount of holding and walking will feel like enough. 

We’re trying to love each season for what it is and I am thankful that tears, for now, can be remedied with clean diapers, food, rest, and snuggles. 

Leave a Reply

