Opalanne | second

Opalanne –

Half your life so far has been quarantined because of a global pandemic. Hopefully that doesn’t ring true past this year.

Sweet – I can’t think of a better word to describe you. When we talk about other families coming to play, you always make sure we list every family member, even if they aren’t coming over. You love to play with Ophie and Lochy from school and talk about them all the time. Every time you see an animal you want to pet it – dogs, birds, zebras – and you remember that we told you that we have to ask first.

Your sentences have exploded in the last 6 months and especially the last several weeks. Yesterday you asked me, “Mommy, why you close door and leave me?” You shout at your sister to wait for you and love being a part of anything that you can.

You’ll be a big sister tomorrow and I know you’re going to take on being a big sister like a champ. You’re the perfect personality for a middle child – checking in on everyone, making sure no one gets left behind.

You’re learning to tell jokes. Currently you love
“Knock knock

Little old lady who
I didn’t know you yodel”

Oh man! And you LOVE to sing. You sing along with everything. “This Is the Day” (aka “song Larry talks”) and “Let it Go” and “Wheels on the Bus.” But also, you love this ridiculous celebrity lullaby with Elmo and Ricky Gervais and ask us to sing it every night. I love when you make up songs and sing them to yourself. I can’t wait to hear more of your singing.

Your tiny run is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen and you love robots and “unitorns” and butterflies (“flap flap!”) and Elmo. You are always up to explore a tunnel and play outside and you love your sister. And the Kitty.

You don’t back down from what you want. (It’s tantrum city sometimes) I hope you keep learning how to speak up for yourself and use your words and your voice to ask for what you need.

I love you so big, my sweet girl. Being your mom is one of the greatest joys of my whole life.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑